Books Campaigns

Traveling High and Tripping Hard by Joseph Davida

Traveling High and Tripping Hard“Many authors have told meandering tales of looking for drugs, but more personal material, such as memories from an infamous day in American history, gives the book its staying power. In the end, readers will get to know the author not just as someone who traveled the world looking to score, but as a man who experienced fear, loathing, and the loss of a loved one as well. And it is in the unveiling of a relatable person that the memoir is able to transcend…paints a vivid picture of a world traveler bent on illicit explorations.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Readers who would take On the Road to the next level, journeying into mind-bending mental realms changed by drugs and challenging life encounters, will find TRAVELING HIGH & TRIPPING HARD a vigorous, revealing memoir that closely examines personal change and larger life goals.”
Midwest Book Review

“A memoir like no other, TRAVELING HIGH & TRIPPING HARD serves up a grand reminder that the truth is always stranger than fiction. Resplendent with laugh-out-loud moments, awe-inspiring travel tales and staggering stories certain to induce slack-jawed disbelief, this is one bold, balls-out, bodacious book.”
Northwest Leaf

TRAVELING HIGH & TRIPPING HARD
By Joseph Davida

It began with an after-school trip to Mike’s Lotto candy store and a particularly sour piece of Double Bubble. When eight-year-old Joseph Davida unwittingly chewed a piece of PCP-laced bubblegum, he was launched into a world of breathing trees, flaming walls, and apocalyptic visions. These visions, as described in his new memoir TRAVELING HIGH & TRIPPING HARD (Dark Planet Press; ISBN 9780999397503; $10.99; Original Trade Paperback), were the catalyst that launched his quest to find the elusive “Professor” in the jungles of Central America, the pyramids of Egypt, and the temples of Kathmandu.

“And then…I heard a voice. It was the sweetest voice I had ever heard, and it told me that I’d passed my test. And then it explained that while everything I’d seen was real, it was not too late. There was still time for things to turn out okay, but there was just one catch…I had to save the world.”
—From TRAVELING HIGH & TRIPPING HARD

In the summer of 1994, 18-year-old Joseph found himself at the end of his lease in a rundown apartment in New York City’s Lower East Side. Instead of searching for a new place to live, he spent his last dime on an impulse ticket to Amsterdam.

“The reason I chose Holland, of course, was for the weed.”
—From TRAVELING HIGH & TRIPPING HARD

Amsterdam was only the first stop on Joseph’s drug-laced quest of spiritual and personal exploration. In his travels he experienced the 90’s EDM scene of Amsterdam; the spiritual gurus of Nepal; a serious case of blistering sunburn in Belize; and the frenetic bustle of Japan. All the while, he sought out his spiritual guide “The Professor” and the answers to life’s big questions in his hopes to unlock the secret to saving the world from its impending demise.

TRAVELING HIGH & TRIPPING HARD is a tale for the next “Beat Generation” that would make Jack Kerouac proud. Fans of On the Road, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, and Catcher in the Rye will enjoy this mind-bending travel memoir of reflection and psychedelic adventure.

About the Author
After a near death experience at age fifteen, Joseph Davida left his parents’ home and moved into Manhattan. Too young to get a “real” job, he started up what became one of the biggest weed delivery services in New York to support himself while he pursued his career as a musician and songwriter. For years he worked with some of the best musicians in the world, until a nervous breakdown brought his time in the music industry to an end. During this time, he traveled the world before finally settling in Nashville, where he had two beautiful daughters and started a successful chain of retail stores. He now concentrates on being a good father, and actively plans for the coming revolution…while also working to get his many stories onto the page.

TRAVELING HIGH & TRIPPING HARD | By Joseph Davida | Published by Dark Planet Press
ISBN: 978-0-9993975-0-3 | Original Trade Paperback | Price: $10.99 | 214 pp.

###